India to Deploy Railways for Voters Awareness Campaign

To create voter awareness in the run-up to the Lok Sabha polls, select trains originating and halting at New Delhi Railway Station will bear slogans such as ‘My Vote Matters’ ,Hindunistan Times has reported

On Friday, Delhi chief electoral officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh launched an awareness campaign from the city, flagging off the Kerala Express with poll-related messages.

“The Kerala Express bound for Thiruvananthapuram starts at 11.25 am, covering eight states in 51 hours and 10 minutes. The train will be flagged by state chief electoral officers at multiple stops as it traverses across the country,” the Delhi CEO office said a statement.

Four long-distance trains covering 19 states have been selected by Election Commission of India (ECI) and Indian Railways to carry voter awareness and motivational messages.

The other trains carrying messages include Himsagar Express, Guwahati Express and Howrah Express.
As the train travels across different states, passengers will be urged by the district election officers (DEOs) to click ‘selfies’ with the slogans in the background and upload them on the official social media accounts of the commission, said officials.

The move has been taken under the Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP).

“The trains have been selected on the longest North-South route and East-West routes. The main purpose of this collaboration is to promote awareness among voters on a large scale,” it said.

The Indian Railways network carries 22.24 million passengers and 3.04 million tonnes of freight on an average on a daily basis, it maintained.

Please follow and like us:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

UK: Network Rail Unfolds 2019-2024 Plan

Sat Mar 30 , 2019
The delivery plan is tagged “Putting passengers first” “Today, train performance isn’t good enough. Passengers deserve a reliable railway and that’s why our promise is to put passengers first. This ethos is at the heart of our Delivery Plan for Control Period 6 (CP6). “This control period, which starts on […]
%d bloggers like this: