The African Association of Urban Mobility Authorities (AAUMA) is Officially Created

Several African countries have embarked on the creation of urban mobility authorities to strengthen urban transport governance in the metropolitan areas experiencing the highest population and urban growth rates of the continent.

The Sustainable Mobility and Climate Week (SMDC22) held in Dakar from October 3-7, 2022, provided an opportunity to hold a meeting between the Africa Transport Policy Program (SSATP) and several urban mobility authorities (UMAs). During the meeting, all participants recognized the need for creating a formal platform for exchanging knowledge and experiences through the establishment of an African Association of Urban Mobility Authorities (AAUMA).

Thus, on Tuesday, February 21, 2023, in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, the Founding General Assembly of the Association – whose objective is to develop a network for exchanging knowledge and experiences related to the planning, coordination, regulation, management and financing of urban transport systems in Africa – took place. It was organized with the support of SSATP and the Urban Mobility Authority of Greater Abidjan (AMUGA). During the meeting, the founding UMAs and first members of the Association adopted the statutes, code of conduct and business plan of the Association, which outlines the organizational structure, priority thematic areas and proposed activities to be conducted in the first years of its existence.

At the end of the General Assembly, the members unanimously elected Dr. Thierno Birahim Aw, Director General of the Executive Council of Urban Transport of Dakar (CETUD), President of the Executive Committee of the Association. He will be supported in his functions by three Vice Presidents who are the Director General of the Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (LAMATA) (Lagos, Nigeria), Mrs. Abimbola Akinajo, and the Director Generals of the Maputo Metropolitan Transport Agency (AMT) (Maputo, Mozambique) and Casa Transports (Casablanca, Morocco), respectively Mr. Antonio Dos Santos and Mr. Nabil Belabed.

The permanent Secretariat, established in Abidjan, is entrusted to AMUGA, through its Director General, Mr. Romain Kouakou.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Lagos government refutes Blue Line Rail fire in Marina

Wed Mar 1 , 2023
The Lagos State Government has refuted reports that the Blue Line Rail went up in flames on Tuesday. News websites and social media blogs published the story earlier in the day but most have deleted it. It was reported that the publications caused anxiety among residents who fear the fire […]

You May Like